The Color of History

Abe-Lincoln-color-930x546

Some pretty incredible pictures here:  http://www.rsvlts.com/2012/08/10/adding-color-to-the-most-iconic-photos-in-history/

Like it or not, you can’t argue that colorizing these old photos that we know so well makes us see them in a completely new way.

Photography was one of my first loves, and I have played with it, studied it, read about it, and appreciated it for a lot of decades now.  These sepia beauties are all old friends to me.

When I started taking pictures, black and white film was still routinely used because color film was in its infancy; slow and grainy.  I took the pictures, I developed the film, and I made the prints.  I devoured Ansel Adams’ books about the art and craft and secretly tried to grow a beard.  I couldn’t measure up to him in any respect, but I loved the craft and I loved the devotion it took.  Still do.

I love these old icons.  I love the hues, I love the flattening effect of the lack of color.  The blacks have no detail and the highlights are completely washed out, leaving it up to our imaginations to fill in, if they are still capable of that in this time when they get so little exercise.

But I have been guilty of loving them as small objects of pure art and creation.  Sure it is a picture of a famous person, or a terrible battle scene, but more on the level of an oil painting by an Old Master than images of Afghanistan on the 6 O’Clock News.

Man does the color change that.

I love the surprise, the rush of emotion, the sudden connection to another human, instead of the cerebral appreciation of a finely crafted work.

Check them out.

Leave a Reply

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Wait But Why

Thoughts on the Human Condition

Unlooker

Thoughts on the Human Condition

Kellans Drums

This WordPress site is about drums!

Thoughts on the Human Condition

Ta-Nehisi Coates | The Atlantic

Thoughts on the Human Condition

Brain Pickings

An inventory of the meaningful life.

How To Think Like Your Agent

Thoughts on the Human Condition

The Nervous Breakdown

Thoughts on the Human Condition

Sherwin Arnott

Thoughts on the Human Condition

Thoughts on the Human Condition

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Lumiograph

A Mostly Photography Blog

Houghton Library

Thoughts on the Human Condition

Madeline Scribes

Writing about the human condition and learning to laugh about it

terribleminds: chuck wendig

Thoughts on the Human Condition

Karavansara

East of Constantinople, West of Shanghai

ZEN PENCILS

Cartoon quotes from inspirational folks

